Announcements

December 21, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

Minister Morneau Announces New Directors for the Canada Development Investment Corporation

The Government of Canada has put in place a more rigorous approach to Governor in Council appointments in which open, transparent and merit-based selection processes result in highly qualified candidates that serve the interests of Canadians.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointment of two new members to the Board of Directors of the Canada Development Investment Corporation (CDEV), including Darlene Halwas and Stephen J. Swaffield.

Ms. Halwas is Corporate Director of Aquatera Utilities Inc., focusing on audit and risk. She has held senior positions in risk management with Direct Energy Limited, the Saskatchewan Wheat Pool, and TransAlta Corporation. She chairs the Audit Committee of the Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services and is past chair of the Governance Committee of the CKUA Radio Foundation. She has held senior roles in foreign exchange with the Canadian Wheat Board and the Bank of Montreal. Ms. Halwas has also served on the boards of the Calgary Police Commission and the Alberta Pensions Services Corporation and is a Chartered Financial Analyst, and a Director certified by the Institute of Corporate Directors. Ms. Halwas is a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Mr. Swaffield has significant experience in Canada's financial and energy sectors, having held senior roles with the Royal Bank of Canada (RBC Capital Markets and RBC Dominion Securities) and Canaccord Financial Inc. He also held senior leadership positions at the executive level with British Gas and Shell International Petroleum Company. Mr. Swaffield brings to CDEV many years of advisory and board experience, from both public and private companies, as well as with not-for-profit organizations.

Quote

"I am pleased to welcome these accomplished individuals who have impressive track records in their respective fields to the board of the Canada Development Investment Corporation. I am certain that they will be successful in their new roles and offer them my congratulations."
Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Canada Development Investment Corporation (CDEV) was established in 1982 under the Canada Business Corporations Act, to manage investments assigned to it and to privatize its holdings when appropriate.
  • CDEV manages a portfolio of assets and investments held by the Government of Canada, on behalf of all Canadians.
  • CDEV's assets include the following wholly owned subsidiaries: Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation, which owns and manages an 8.5% interest in the Hibernia oilfield; Canada GEN Investment Corporation, which owned the business interests of the Crown in General Motors; and Canada Eldor Inc., which has no operations, but services liabilities, chiefly arising from a 1988 agreement of purchase and sale with Cameco Inc.

Media may contact

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca 
613-462-5469

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230
E-mail: fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca


October 11, 2017

Canada Development Investment Corporation Notice of Annual Public Meeting

Canada Development Investment Corporation (CDEV) will hold its Annual Public Meeting on Wednesday, October 11, 2017 at 9:00 a.m. EDT at the Fairmont Royal York hotel, 100 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario. Attendee registration is from 8:30 a.m. to 8:55 a.m.

Members of the Board of Directors and Executive Vice-President will be present at this meeting.

Questions may be submitted in advance to info@cdev.gc.ca no later than October 4, 2017 and every attempt will be made to answer them during the Q&A session.

Copies of CDEV’s 2016 Annual Report and 2017-2021 Corporate Plan Summary will be available at the meeting. For electronic copies and additional information about the Corporation please consult our website at www.cdev.gc.ca.

Annonces

Le 21 décembre 2017 – Ottawa (Ontario) – Ministère des Finances Canada

Le ministre Morneau annonce la nomination de nouveaux administrateurs à La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada a mis en place un processus plus rigoureux en ce qui concerne les nominations par le gouverneur en conseil. Ce processus de sélection, qui est ouvert, transparent et fondé sur le mérite, se traduit par la nomination de candidates et de candidats hautement qualifiés qui servent les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Conformément à cet engagement, le ministre des Finances, Bill Morneau, a annoncé aujourd'hui la nomination de deux nouveaux membres au conseil d'administration de La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada (CDEV), Mme Darlene Halwas et M. Stephen J. Swaffield.

Mme Halwas est l'administratrice de la société Aquatera Utilities inc., dont les activités sont axées sur l'audit et le risque. Elle a occupé des postes de haute direction en gestion du risque au sein de la Direct Energy Limited, au Saskatchewan Wheat Pool et à la TransAlta Corporation. Elle préside actuellement le comité de vérification de la Commission des plaintes relatives aux services de télécom-télévision et a présidé le comité de gouvernance de la fondation de la radio CKUA. Elle a assumé des rôles de haute direction dans le domaine des opérations de change à la Commission canadienne du blé et à la Banque de Montréal. Mme Halwas a également siégé aux conseils d'administration de la Calgary Police Commission et de l'Alberta Pensions Services Corporation, et elle est analyste financière agréée et directrice attestée par l'Institut des administrateurs de sociétés. Mme Halwas a par ailleurs reçu la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II.

M. Swaffield possède une vaste expérience dans le secteur financier et le secteur de l'énergie au Canada, ayant assumé des rôles de direction à la Banque Royale du Canada (RBC Marchés des Capitaux et RBC Dominion valeurs mobilières) et à la Financière Canaccord inc. Il a également occupé des postes dans la haute direction de la British Gas et de la Shell International Petroleum Company. M. Swaffield apporte à la CDEV de nombreuses années d'expérience en tant que conseiller et membre de conseils d'administration, acquise dans les secteurs public et privé ainsi que dans des organismes à but non lucratif.

Citation

« Je suis heureux d'accueillir au sein du conseil d'administration de La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada ces personnes qui possèdent une feuille de route impressionnante dans leurs domaines respectifs. Je suis certain qu'elles réussiront dans leurs nouvelles fonctions, et je les félicite de leur nomination. »
Bill Morneau, ministre des Finances

Les faits en bref

  • La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada (CDEV) a été créée en 1982 en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions afin de gérer les investissements qui lui ont été confiés et de privatiser son portefeuille d'actions, le cas échéant.
  • La CDEV gère un portefeuille de biens et d'investissements détenus par le gouvernement du Canada, au nom de tous les Canadiens.
  • Les actifs de la CDEV comprennent les filiales en propriété exclusive suivantes : la Société de gestion Canada Hibernia, qui détient une participation de 8,5 % dans le champ pétrolier Hibernia; la Corporation d'investissement GEN du Canada, qui détenait les intérêts commerciaux de l'État dans General Motors; et Canada Eldor inc., qui ne réalise aucune opération, mais est responsable du passif de gestion découlant principalement d'un accord d'achat et de vente conclu avec Cameco inc. en 1988.

Les médias peuvent s'adresser à

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Finances
chloe.luciani-girouard@canada.ca 
613-462-5469

Relations avec les médias
Ministère des Finances Canada
fin.media-media.fin@canada.ca
613-369-4000

Demandes de renseignements généraux

Téléphone : 613-369-3710
Télécopieur : 613-369-4065
Téléimprimeur : 613-369-3230
Courriel : fin.financepublic-financepublique.fin@canada.ca


Le 11 octobre 2017

La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada Avis d'assemblée publique annuelle

La Corporation de développement des investissements du Canada (CDEV) tiendra son assemblée publique annuelle le mercredi 11 octobre 2017, à 9h00 HAE à l’hôtel Fairmont Royal York, 100 rue Front ouest, Toronto, Ontario. L’inscription aura lieu entre 8h30 et 8h55.

Des membres du conseil d’administration et le vice-président exécutif seront présents.

On peut aussi envoyer des questions par courriel au info@cdev.gc.ca au plus tard le 4 octobre 2017. Nous mettrons tout en oeuvre pour assurer que des réponses soient données à la séance de questions et réponses de l’assemblée.

Des exemplaires du Rapport annuel 2016 et du Sommaire du plan d’activités 2017-2021 de la CDEV seront offerts à l’assemblée. Pour obtenir des versions électroniques des documents et de l’information additionnelle sur la Corporation, veuillez visiter notre site web au www.cdev.gc.ca.