About CDEV

Overview

The Corporation was established in 1982 under the Canada Business Corporations Act, to manage investments assigned to it and to privatize its holdings when appropriate. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

CDEV is a holding company with the following wholly owned subsidiaries for which it has responsibility: Canada Hibernia Holding Corporation, which owns and manages an 8.5% interest in the Hibernia oilfield; Canada Eldor Inc., which has no operations, but has responsibility for servicing liabilities, chiefly arising from an agreement of purchase and sale with Cameco Inc. entered into in 1988; On August 31, 2018 Trans Mountain Corporation, a subsidiary of CDEV purchased the entities that own and operate the Trans Mountain Pipeline System that runs between Edmonton, AB and Burnaby, BC and Washington State. The purchase price is $4.5 Billion before closing adjustments yet to be confirmed. The purchase was financed through loans from the Canada Account managed by Export Development Canada. Trans Mountain Corporation is operated by a management team based in Calgary. More information will be made available with CDEV's Q3 financial report at the end of November 2018.

In November 2007, the Minister informed CDEV that "going forward, the operations of the CDEV should reflect a future focused on the ongoing management of its current holdings in a commercial manner, providing assistance to the government in new directions suited to CDEV's capabilities, while maintaining the capacity to divest CDEV's existing holdings, and any other government interests assigned to it for divestiture, upon the direction of the Minister of Finance".

In August 2009 the Minister of Finance requested CDEV to participate in the Government's on-going review of corporate asset holdings.

The Government of Canada has announced that it intends to sell Ridley Terminals Inc. CDEV will serve as the Government's agent to ensure that any sale process in conducted using best commercial practices.

Portrait de la CDEV

Aperçu

La Corporation a été créée en 1982, en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur les sociétés par actions, afin de gérer les investissements qui lui sont confiés et de privatiser ses actifs s'il y a lieu. La Corporation rend compte au Parlement, par l'intermédiaire du ministre des Finances.

La CDEV est une société en portefeuille qui a la responsabilité des filiales en propriété exclusive suivantes: la Société de gestion Canada Hibernia, qui détient et gère des intérêts de 8,5 % du champ pétrolifère Hibernia; Canada Eldor Inc., qui ne réalise aucune opération, mais qui a la responsabilité du passif de gestion découlant principalement d'un accord d'achat et de vente conclu avec Cameco Inc. en 1988. Le 31 août 2018, une filiale de la CDEV a acheté les entreprises qui détiennent et gèrent le système Trans Mountain Pipeline qui s'étend d'Edmonton en Alberta à Burnaby en Colombie-Britannique et à l'état de Washington. Le prix d'achat est de 4,5 milliards de dollars sous réserve des ajustements de clôture de la transaction non encore confirmés. L'achat a été financé par des prêts à même le Compte du Canada géré par Exportation et Développement Canada. La filiale porte le nom de Trans Mountain Corporation et est gérée par une équipe de direction basée à Calgary. D'autres renseignements suivront lors du dépôt du rapport financier du troisième trimestre de la CDEV à la fin du mois de novembre 2018.

En novembre 2007, le ministre a informé la CDEV qu'elle « devra dorénavant se forger un avenir axé sur la gestion continue de ses actifs actuels dans une perspective commerciale et prêter son concours au gouvernement dans la recherche de nouvelles orientations qui conviennent à ses capacités, tout en conservant la capacité de se dessaisir de ses actifs actuels et de tout autre placement de l'État, à la demande du ministre des Finances ».

En août 2009, le ministre des Finances a demandé à la CDEV de participer à l'examen en cours des actifs détenus par le gouvernement.

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé son intention de vendre la société Ridley Terminals Inc. La CDEV agira comme mandataire du gouvernement et veillera à ce que tout aspect de la vente se déroule selon des pratiques commerciales exemplaires.